2014 Scholarship

The 2nd Annual Alumni Scholarships of $500 each were awarded to Stephen Morris and Tanner Turner-Rush. The scholarships were presented to both recipients at the May 13, 2014 Senior Athletic and Academic Awards Ceremony. Stephen, a son of Michael and Rosemary Morris, and Tanner, the daughter of Vincent Turner and Michele Rush, exemplify the School and Community Service ideals the association had in mind when the scholarship was established in 2013. 

Stephen volunteers at the St. Patrick’s Cathedral Food Kitchen and the Central PA Food Bank. He is a member of the youth group at St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, a referee and a coach for the Susquehanna Soccer Club. He is an active supporter of the Four Diamonds Foundation and a committee chair of STHS’ Mini-THON fundraiser. A member of the National Honor Society, Stephen is ranked 18th in his class of 240. Stephen has been in the Art Club for four years where had painted several murals for the 2014 musical Shrek. He is also on the Alumni Association's Vietnam Memorial art design team. He will attend HACC before transferring to Penn State. Did we mention he was voted Most School Spirited???

Tanner, volunteers with the Special Olympics, Breast Cancer Awareness walks, and assisted with summer basketball camps from 2009 to 2012. She was President of the Math Sciences Challenge for three years, Student Government Treasurer from 2011 to 2012, and a member of the Key Club from 2012 to 2013. Ranked 56 out of 240, Tanner spends part of her day at HACC taking college courses. A four year basketball player , she served as Captain the past two years. In addition to basketball, Tanner played Varsity Soccer for four years and also served as Captain for two of those years. When not playing on a school team, she played AAU Basketball and Elite Soccer teams. Tanner will attend Goldey-Beacom College in Wilmington, DE. Did we mention she was a M&T Bank John Travers Award nominee??? Each Travers nominee excels as an athlete, student, and member of the community at large.

 Scholarship Winners

Pictured L-R Dwayne DeFoor, Tanner Turner-Rush,
Stephen Morris, and Shirley Kannegieser